top of page

Asanas: The 3rd limb of yoga

The third limb of yoga, as outlined in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, is known as asana. The asanas are what we all see as yoga! The actual physical poses we practice in class.

These poses are designed to cultivate strength, flexibility, balance, and relaxation in the body. The practice of asanas is an integral part of the yogic path, and it is believed that through consistent and mindful practice, individuals can achieve physical well-being and mental clarity.

In the context of the eight limbs of yoga, asanas serve as a preparation for the deeper practices of meditation and concentration.

By bringing attention to the breath and body during the practice of asanas, practitioners learn to quiet the mind and develop a sense of inner awareness. This sets the stage for the higher limbs of yoga, which involve introspection, concentration, and meditation.

The benefits of practicing asanas are numerous. Physically, they help improve flexibility, build strength, enhance posture, and promote overall physical well-being.

Mentally, the practice of asanas can lead to reduced stress and anxiety, increased focus and concentration, and a greater sense of inner peace. Additionally, asanas are often used therapeutically to address specific health concerns or imbalances in the body.

Incorporating asanas into one’s daily routine can have a profound impact on both physical and mental health. Whether practiced in a traditional yoga class or individually at home, the regular practice of yoga postures can contribute to a holistic sense of well-being.

- Sat Nam

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page